Implementation Process

The Nepal Earthquake Housing Reconstruction Program is structured around five major stages of implementation, each one building upon the other, as follows:

Nepal EHRP Stages of Implementation

NEHRP Stages of Implementation

Stage I: The Survey

With the support of the Nepal Earthquake Housing Reconstruction Program - MDTF and the Global Facility for Disaster Reduction and Recovery, the Government of Nepal’s Central Bureau of Statistics (CBS) conducted a comprehensive census of damage to the housing stock in each of the fourteen most-affected districts. This door-to-door assessment has generated a beneficiary/damage database which serves as the basis of the rural housing reconstruction program and also assists in the effective monitoring of the recovery process.  As of January 2017, a total of 829,702 houses were surveyed in the 14 most-affected districts.

Stage II: Identification and Validation

Based on the eligibility criteria (aimed at Nepal's poor and most needy including women-headed households and the disabled), an analysis of the survey results will generate a list of eligible households at Nepal’s Village Development Committee (VDC) or municipality level (and when possible, at the more micro - local ward level). As of January 2017, 626,036 beneficiaries were identified in the 14 most-affected districts.

Stage III: Enrollment

Eligible beneficiaries will enroll in the program by entering into a legally binding Participation Agreement (PA) with their VDC. The PA outlines the entitlements and obligations of both parties regarding key details of the program such as: payment of subsidy, housing construction standards and grievance redress mechanisms (how the program will address beneficiaries’ complaints). As of January 2017, 548,363 beneficiaries (approximately 87% of identified beneficiaries) have been enrolled in the program.

Stage IV: Reconstruction

The principle of owner-driven reconstruction is fundamental to the Nepal Eathquake Housing Reconstruction Program. Beneficiaries will be supported with socio-technical assistance; training and market facilitation; and cash-based assistance, provided in tranches, upon certification of the utilization of earthquake-safer building techniques guided by Nepal’s National Building Code (NBC). Some of the areas of assistance provided through the program include training and technical assistance in addition to the reconstruction subsidy. As of January 2017, 476,813 beneficiaries (approximately 85% of identified beneficiaries) have received the first tranche.  In addition, 1,301 engineers, 469 sub-engineers and 508 assistant engineers have been deployed to the 14 most-affected districts to provide technical assistance and training. According to the NRA 28,198 houses are currently under construction and 41,311 are completed.

Stage V: Completion

In the final stage of the program cycle, the beneficiary will obtain the “Building Construction Completion Certificate” upon inspection of their reconstructed house, certifying that the new construction complies with the earthquake-safer building guidelines for greater resilience. At this stage, the final tranche of the subsidy will be transferred to the beneficiary.


Current Status of the Program

The Nepal Earthquake Housing Reconstruction Program has completed Stages I (Survey), II (Identification and Validation), and III (Enrollment). The program is  s currently engaged in Stage IV (Reconstruction), which is moving forward on numerous fronts.  The Program is expected to last for 5 years.